Reflect, Detect, Select, Correct

My dad and his partner arrive today in the evening. I am nervous and excited to see family and things from the states. I have been in Korea for 7 months now and really I feel I have not accomplished everything I have set out to do. I am teaching, yet the concept is not glamorous or entirely what I want for the rest of my life. I enjoy working with the students, but like with every teacher, the administration destroys the whole purpose of academia. Children do not learn the same and I feel these work spaces do not allow all the different types, and possibilities, of teaching.

Though I cannot complain. I am thankful I have a job, coworkers who are great, friends to spend time with, and my health. However, I feel there is something I must forget or things to discard. There is a weight on my chest that must be released and I think the month of May is when everything will be alleviated. It is just time to pick up and move on.

For the next two weeks, I will be spending time with my dad and his partner. We will be traveling around Korea (Gyeongju, Busan, and Jeju). I am really excited because I have yet to see these places. I have been to Busan, but I will be able to see more things this trip. I am very excited. After this trip, I will be traveling on the weekends. I am tired of being stuck between Gimpo and Seoul. I want to see other parts of Korea and if I have to do it alone, I will. I think I am just not satisfied with some people I have been with. They are not adventurers. They are comfortable doing nothing or are not willing to spend the money. I am here to travel around Korea because when I studied I did not take the time. My whole purpose in Korea now is to open my eyes, move with the wind, and develop my center and balance.

Right now I am off balance and I have to remove the weight that is holding me back. And then never look back.

Leave a Reply

